2nd Sunday of Lent – Sunday 21st February 2016 – Luke 31:31-end

2nd Sunday of Lent – Sunday 21st February 2016 – Luke 31:31-end

Had a break as I’d got a bit stale but this new way of looking at Scripture I’m enjoying – I hope you do it.

I got the inspiration from this article I read over Christmas:

http://www.abc.net.au/religion/articles/2015/12/29/4379689.htm

where Prof. Sarah Coakley considers left side of the brain and the right side to produce different thinking states. The left ‘side of the brain (with) that neurological states associated with cool analysis and executive decisions’. 

Whereas ‘In contrast, the right brain’s capacity to replenish, enrich and re-invigorate our cultural imagination by means of meditation, dream, myth, ritual, music and poetry’. 

So My three questions will be:

  1. What left hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  2. What right hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  3. What might I preach about – living in suburban Kidderminster.
  1. What left hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  1. I wonder how Jesus came to a decision to go to Jerusalem? Certainly the history of the prophets to Jerusalem was a pulling factor for him too – it’s what you did. v32
  2. Another factor in Jesus’ decision is his emotional attachment to Jerusalem v34
  3. A further factor is the necessity to move on because of Herod’s threats. It’s worth while encouraging people to look at our decision making especially those thinking about ordination or becoming officers in the church – our AGMs are coming soon.
  1. What right hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  1. The fox vs the hen. Foxes always win: Chicken Licken, The Gingerbreadman, The Fox and the Crow. Does Herod the Fox win again?
  2. ‘as a hen gathers her brood under her wings’. We could tell stories when we’ve had that experience of being under God’s cosy and protective wings especially when we’re having hard times.
  3. ‘and you were not willing’. Lenten themes about forgiveness and when forgiveness is withheld?
  1. What might I preach about – living in suburban Kidderminster.
  1. This weekend I’m preaching in a country church – the faithful few trying to reach out to their village. They will know first hand about foxes and hens. I might do 2a above
  2. I do need to encourage them. Their church is on a hill and I know they want to embrace their area with Jesus’ love. Having that desire is important when we pray for our area.
  3. I wonder what they’re doing for Lent and how it’s going. I may share my ‘Loitering within Lent’ actions – see St John the Baptist, Wolverley’s website.
Leave a Reply

