Mothering Sunday / Mother’s Day – Sunday 6th March 2016 – John 19:25b-27

Mothering Sunday / Mother’s Day – Sunday 6th March 2016 – John 19:25b-27

Had a break as I’d got a bit stale but this new way of looking at Scripture I’m enjoying – I hope you do it.

I was inspired by this article I read over Christmas:

http://www.abc.net.au/religion/articles/2015/12/29/4379689.htm

where Prof. Sarah Coakley considers left side of the brain and the right side to produce different thinking states. The left ‘side of the brain (with) that neurological states associated with cool analysis and executive decisions’. 

Whereas ‘In contrast, the right brain’s capacity to replenish, enrich and re-invigorate our cultural imagination by means of meditation, dream, myth, ritual, music and poetry’. 

So My three questions will be:

  1. What left hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  2. What right hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  3. What might I preach about – living in suburban Kidderminster.
  1. What left hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  1. ‘And from that hour’ Did John take Mary away there and then to spare her the trauma of Jesus’ final hours on the cross? If this was the case, why did Jesus decide to do this?
  2. It appears Mary was a widow and if Jesus’ brothers and sisters had distanced himself from them both, someone would need to provide for her. Why did Jesus decide on John?
  3. Family break-ups are not a feature of Mother’s Day. Perhaps they should be.
  1. What right hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  1. I’m doing Mother’s Day as my theme and remembering our own mothers. How can we honour them even if they have died? How did Jesus honour his mother?
  2. How is the ‘Bank of Mum and Dad’ honouring? Or not?
  3. How might we honour our Mothers who are in a nursing home and perhaps with dementia?
  1. What might I preach about – living in suburban Kidderminster.
  1. I take many funerals and recently have had several where the children of these older women (and they were all women) didn’t come to their funeral. I sensed there was something of ‘payback time’. Hence I’m linking the reading from John with Colossians. How might we help bring people together at a funeral? How might it start before a death?
  2. I might revisit what it means to ‘Honour your (father and) mother’.
  3. I might tell the story of how my own mother refused to come to my ordination service. And how I tried to honour this decision.
Leave a Reply

