3rd Sunday of Easter – Sunday 10th April 2016 – John 21:1-19

3rd Sunday of Easter – Sunday 10th April 2016 – John 21:1-19

Had a break as I’d got a bit stale but this new way of looking at Scripture I’m enjoying – I hope you do it.

I got the inspiration from this article I read over Christmas:

(I gather the link I’ve been giving isn’t working) – The article is ‘Angels and Dreams: Second Naivete and the Christian Imagination’ and is on http://www.abc.net.au

Prof. Sarah Coakley considers left side of the brain and the right side to produce different thinking states. The left ‘side of the brain (with) that neurological states associated with cool analysis and executive decisions’. 

Whereas ‘In contrast, the right brain’s capacity to replenish, enrich and re-invigorate our cultural imagination by means of meditation, dream, myth, ritual, music and poetry’. 

So My three questions will be:

  1. What left hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  2. What right hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  3. What might I preach about – living in suburban Kidderminster.
  1. What left hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  1. I am going fishing. A clear decision to go back and do what you’re good at, what you know. Jesus shows himself to his disciples in Jerusalem but surely won’t here.
  2. Only Simon Peter rushes to see Jesus. And the others carry on managing the net full of fish. We might admire Peter’s enthusiasm; we might also admire the care shown to a valuable catch.
  3. And Jesus has cooked their breakfast but this is not self-service meal. Jesus gives them their food. Why has he chosen to do this?
  1. What right hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  1. 153 fish were caught on the right side of the boat. After a night where they caught nothing, this must have seem like a miracle. ‘It is the Lord,’ the disciples says. Abundance generosity must be Jesus’ signature tune.
  2. Fishermen to Shepherd. Feeding little ones, feeding older ones. Just like Peter has been fed – literally and metaphorically. How are we being fed?
  3. Peter is warned about the cost of loving Jesus. Then Jesus says, ‘Follow me.’ And we aren’t told what Peter’s response is. What is our response? Especially if we know this might cause suffering.
  1. What might I preach about – living in suburban Kidderminster.
  1. God’s generosity. How is not only the individuals but the church as a whole – how can we show Jesus’ generosity together?
  2. It’s Vocations Sunday next Sunday. I might prepare the ground to ask how we’ve been called to change direction.
  3. I might remind us all about our resurrection is not being raised from the dead – as you were before. We will get a resurrection body.
Leave a Reply

