4th Sunday of Easter – Sunday 17th April 2016 – John 10:22-30

4th Sunday of Easter – Sunday 17th April 2016 – John 10:22-30

Had a break as I’d got a bit stale but this new way of looking at Scripture I’m enjoying – I hope you do it.

I got the inspiration from this article I read over Christmas:

(I gather the link I’ve been giving isn’t working) – The article is ‘Angels and Dreams: Second Naivete and the Christian Imagination’ and is on http://www.abc.net.au

Prof. Sarah Coakley considers the ways the left side of the brain and the right side produces different thinking states. The left ‘side of the brain (with) that neurological states associated with cool analysis and executive decisions’. 

Whereas ‘In contrast, the right brain’s capacity to replenish, enrich and re-invigorate our cultural imagination by means of meditation, dream, myth, ritual, music and poetry’. 

So My three questions will be:

  1. What left hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  2. What right hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  3. What might I preach about – living in suburban Kidderminster.
  1. What left hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  1. Jesus can’t answer the question ‘if you are the Messiah, tell us plainly’ because Jesus’ Messiah means something different than their idea of Messiah. They’re inhabiting two different mindsets.
  2. Is Jesus suggesting belonging comes before believing? v26
  3. How good to be one of Jesus’ sheep. They are given eternal life and will never perish. v28
  1. What right hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  1. ‘Snatch’ is a word I associate with being a child. I remember having balls, toys snatched out of my hand. Another – muggers snatch mobile phones out of people’s hands. It’s a horrid word and suggests being vulnerable. We can’t be snatched from Jesus’ hand. We are safe. Jesus’ hand must be the strongest.
  2. Not being able to hear Jesus. And even the works Jesus does are misunderstood. How frustrating. Lord, tune our ears and eyes so we can hear your words and see your works.
  3. What my Father has given me is greater than all else’ I wonder what wonders the Father has given him.
  1. What might I preach about – living in suburban Kidderminster.
  1. I might discuss this word ‘snatch’ and then ‘safe’. And what this feels like; how it may affect our actions.
  2. It’s Vocations Sunday. What we are given in skills, ability and talent is ‘greater than all else’. We are individuals and asked to use what we have to God’s glory.
  3. ‘Hearing Jesus’ voice’ – examples of people who have heard. What it sounded like and what effects it had.
Leave a Reply

