6th Sunday of Easter – Sunday 1st May 2016 – John 5:1-9.

6th Sunday of Easter – Sunday 1st May 2016 – John 5:1-9. I don’t understand why there’s two readings. But I’ve chosen this because it’s a story. I like stories!

Had a break as I’d got a bit stale but this new way of looking at Scripture I’m enjoying – I hope you do it.

I got the inspiration from this article I read over Christmas:

(I gather the link I’ve been giving isn’t working) – The article is ‘Angels and Dreams: Second Naivete and the Christian Imagination’ and is on http://www.abc.net.au

Prof. Sarah Coakley considers the ways the left side of the brain and the right side produces different thinking states. The left ‘side of the brain (with) that neurological states associated with cool analysis and executive decisions’. 

Whereas ‘In contrast, the right brain’s capacity to replenish, enrich and re-invigorate our cultural imagination by means of meditation, dream, myth, ritual, music and poetry’. 

So My three questions will be:

  1. What left hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  2. What right hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  3. What might I preach about – living in suburban Kidderminster.
  1. What left hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  1. There are many invalids but only one is chosen to be healed. He is healed. It reminds me of the starfish story (lots of starfish on the beach, boy throwing them back in the sea, is criticised as he can’t throw them all, he can’t make a big difference, as he throws the next one – he’s made a difference to that one)
  2. The man who is lame only knows one way of being healed – which he can’t access. Jesus widens this to include himself.
  3. Does Jesus ask that he removes his mat so he cannot return there?
  1. What right hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  1. How frustrating to be so near to being healed as the waters are stirred but unable to be first. Has he lost hope?
  2. Now that day was the sabbath – this is like a party pooper. A great good has been done. Why spoil it?
  3. I wonder how all the other ‘invalids’ felt?
  1. What might I preach about – living in suburban Kidderminster.
  1. We are doing as requested by our Archbishops – prayers for renewal. Why is this important now?
  2. The church I’m preaching at is ‘tired’ – few people working to keep the church open. Perhaps like this man who is healed they are losing hope.
  3. The ‘one’s are important. Not everyone is healed this day. Let’s pray for ones.
Leave a Reply

