Pentecost – Sunday 15th May 2016 – John 14: 8-17 [25-27].

Pentecost – Sunday 15th May 2016 – John 14: 8-17 [25-27].

Had a break as I’d got a bit stale but this new way of looking at Scripture I’m enjoying – I hope you do it.

I got the inspiration from this article I read over Christmas:

(I gather the link I’ve been giving isn’t working) – The article is ‘Angels and Dreams: Second Naivete and the Christian Imagination’ and is on http://www.abc.net.au

Prof. Sarah Coakley considers the ways the left side of the brain and the right side produces different thinking states. The left ‘side of the brain (with) that neurological states associated with cool analysis and executive decisions’. 

Whereas ‘In contrast, the right brain’s capacity to replenish, enrich and re-invigorate our cultural imagination by means of meditation, dream, myth, ritual, music and poetry’. 

So My three questions will be:

  1. What left hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  2. What right hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  3. What might I preach about – living in suburban Kidderminster.
  1. What left hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  1. The satisfaction of Proof. v8 Lord, show me ______ (fill in your own need of proof) and I will be satisfied. The only proof we get is v10 ‘the works themselves’. What ‘works’ are we thinking about here?
  2. The disciples ‘will do greater works than these’. I wonder what works the disciples did which was ‘greater’ than Jesus’ works.
  3. ‘If in my name you ask me for anything, I will do it.’ Was this just for the disciples? Or was it for us too? The dictionary says an advocate is ‘person who puts a case on someone else’s behalf: care managers can become advocates for their clients.’ Is the Holy Spirit synthesising what we ask for?
  1. What right hand side of the brain thinking might I find surprising or challenging in this passage?
  1. ‘the Spirit of truth’ v17 The truth about our lives has problems filtering through our prejudices and lack of confidence etc. In our dreams what is true may be shown us. What have we been dreaming about recently?
  2. How else do to we ‘tune in’ to God’s Spirit? How have we done this recently?
  3. We need to ‘keep my commandments’. Our will and our intuition needs refining too.
  1. What might I preach about – living in suburban Kidderminster.
  1. The Prayer walks we have done. What’s been seen and heard? What truths have I seen?
  2. The church I’m preaching at is ‘tired’ – few people working to keep the church open. We need refreshment from the Holy Spirit big style. AGAIN
  3. The West Midlands has few practising Christians than any other part of England. May we go and show your love. AGAIN
Leave a Reply

