9th Sunday after Trinity – Sunday 24th July 2016 -Luke 11:1-13.

9th Sunday after Trinity – Sunday 24th July 2016 –Luke 11:1-13.

At the start of the ‘Trinity’ season, I’m asking about the different persons of the trinity knowing that they are indeed one God. 

From this passage:

what have I learnt about God the Father?

what insights have I about God the Son?

what inspiration may I gain from God the Holy Spirit

1. what have I learnt about God the Father?

  1. We can call God ‘Father’ – whether this is a term of endearment or the patriarchal strict role it is still a human name. We know what a ‘Father’ is.
  2. We are encouraged to ask for: the earth to be a better place, our ‘bread’, our forgiveness and not to be in a ‘time of trial’. Our needs physical and spiritual.
  3. We can ask for the ‘Holy Spirit’ knowing this prayer will be answered with a ‘yes’.

2. what insights have I about God the Son?

  1. He too needs to spend time with God.
  2. Jesus is encouraging us to be persistent in our prayers.
  3. Jesus seems to be enjoying the repetition of the slogan about ask, seek and find.

3. what inspiration may I gain from God the Holy Spirit

  1. I wonder why we have to ask for the Holy Spirit and why it’s not a given.
  2. I wonder if the asking ‘teach us to pray’ is part of the searching.
  3. Searching requires persistence and I think knocking requires taking a risk. The Holy Spirit needs to energise us for both of these.
Leave a Reply

